A cheapskate's timing belt

For starters, I should explain my background, as it will give you some insight into my dilemma:

I have been a graduate student for 4 years and a missionary teacher for 2 . . . so I have learned how to be compulsive in my penny-pinching ways.

At the moment, my 1991 Toyota Corolla, with about 180.000 miles, needs a new timing belt. Or at least that is what my mechanic told me at my last oil change. I have done all manner of random things on my own, for lack of willingness to spend [from mowing my 1-acre with a push mower to figuring out how to replace a broken door pane when renters left my family home gutted].

So is there some what I can do this change on the cheap–or drive it until the belt breaks? Or until I move back to Africa for my next job?

[They told me it would cost about $300 to do the repairs and, considering the fact that my current child-care garners about $45/week, I blanched at this amount :-)]

My daughter was driving a '91 Corolla with over 100K miles on it. The timing belt was due for replacement. We did the job in my home garage for less than $75. If I can do it, you can do it.

The belt is cheap, and, assuming you have a service manual to direct you, the labor is not beyond a basic do-it-yourselfer.

You will need some tools, some of which you may not have. Beg, borrow, (I won’t suggest stealing) the tools you need, and do it yourself.

You WILL need a service manual. I suggest Books4Cars.com if you don’t have one already.

$300 is not bad if you can’t do this yourself, assuming the job is done correctly.

Good news! The engine in your Corolla is not an “interference” engine, so, even if the timing belt breaks the engine will not suffer internal damage.

I recommend replacing the timing belt, ASAP, especially at 180K miles. Get a book and some tools. You can do this.