Roof racks

Hello,

I have a 2010 Prius and love to Kayak. I was told by an (expert) rack person that they would have to drill into the roof to install the proper rack system for my car to be able to transport two kayaks. It would cost over 450.00 to have it mounted. They also informed me that the clip on roof racks are not the way to go because they may cause some destruction. Not sure what to do…thought about a pull behind small utility trailer but I don’t think my car is set up for that either. Any ideas?

Missing my paddling since I bought the Prius. ~Wendy

PS I am a graveyard shift registered nurse and am plenty tired most days off…but any advise would be greatly appreciated. Take Care, radio folks!

You might want to go to a ski store to get more info about the “destruction”. I shopped one that also sold rooftop cargo carriers but was put off by the cost; found another way to carry our extra luggage for an extended trip. They had custom clamps for various car makes. I see a fair number of cars with roof racks for carrying skis in the winter. It’s hard to believe that they are all sustaining “destruction”.

A lightweight trailer would also work as long as the weight is minimal. I will venture to say that minimal is 500 lbs. max. total, kayaks and trailer which is very possible. Harbor Freight has lightweight trailers but they must be assembled and then modified with an added plywood floor or some kind of fittings to hold your kayaks. A handy DIY person could set this up. I occasionally see kayaks being transported upside down on vehicles to keep the rain out I suppose. A trailer would make it easier for you to load and unload the kayaks. I can say this from using our rooftop two bicycle carrier.

This reply is not completely specific but might help to get something started.

Web search for ‘roof rack prius’. I did, and came up with this:

http://www.etrailer.com/Roof-Rack/Rola/59806.html?feed=npn&gclid=CNnG-dzPuLUCFUqf4AodCUEAeg