Robotic Mechanic

I can see some real issues with allowing HAL 9000 to get involved…

A mechanic might end up picking up a bleached bone and whaling away… :slight_smile:

Wonderful. Apparently Audi has zero trust in their service technicians and their shop supervisors. I’ll bet the technicians are thrilled. I wonder if the fax machines are being burned up from the techs faxing their resumes.

Talk about people looking over your shoulder-“will you just go get a cup of coffee and let me get this thing done?”

I’m not a mechanic, but the same engineers that wrote the repair manuals will be the ones advising the technician? Like the emergency room doctor told me once, “sometimes the symptoms don’t follow the book”. I guess having a hotline to the manufacturer is not such a bad idea but this just kinda looks silly.

I hope these are meant for situations where they need to inform Audi itself of a problem or to get better information about how to fix the particular issue. Otherwise it won’t make many friends in the service dept.

It could be a good or bad thing. That’s why they are testing it. Not every mechanic is a master mechanic and having a few more master mechanics available to discuss issues with the mechanic on the floor and even see what the mechanic is looking at doesn’t sound all bad to me. Identifix makes a good living doing this, but they don’t have the camera.

At the moment, I’m somewhat negative about the “telepresence” thing

There could be one possible advantage, though . . . and only if the guy on the other end is willing to play fair

If the car needs a “secret fix” that only the manufacturer knows about, and even the technical website doesn’t have information yet, he could tell the mechanic what to do . . . before the poor guy wastes time, for which he won’t get paid