If I were a mechanic, this is what would make me crazy

I’m not a real mechanic. Just a Saturday home garage mechanic. I admire real mechanics. Especially the most experienced ones, who can pretty much work on cars in their sleep. And real mechanics are super-knowledgeable and can reduce their knowledge to practice in a logical step by step way. Real mechanics never get stuck and give up. When they run into a difficulty, they just re-group, maybe ask another mechanic who has solved the problem before, and then go back after the problem. And real mechanics work really fast. They can usually do a job that would take me 8 hours in an hour or two max.

I only know how to work on my own cars, and have little idea what to do when somebody comes down the sidewalk, sees me under my car changing the oil, and asks “What do you think is causing this knocking sound in 2nd gear of my Accura Integra”? I really don’t have the foggiest, and I don’t have any idea how to figure it out for them. Sometimes this seems to annoy the person that I don’t know, but what am I supposed to say? I have studied the shop manuals for my cars, but haven’t even seen shop manuals or any other manuals for any Acuras. One neighbor of mine has a 1980-something Ford with an early fuel injection system of theirs, and he is always asking me for guidance when his car doesn’t run smoothly. Time and time again I have to tell him I don’t know. And it isn’t that I’m shining him on. I really just don’t know. And I don’t know what to do to find out.

I was thinking though: "What if I were a real mechanic? What if I was someone who worked on whatever make and model car was brought to me. What would annoy me most about that job?