How to work with a mechanic

No, I’m not an expert on this and I’d like some coaching from the professionals who visit this site. How would you like the customer to deal with you? This includes problem description, questions they should ask, setting up a plan for evaluation, and anything else you can think of. I’d like to think that we already know how to treat you - like competent professionals who are there to help us. Even if we forget that sometimes. If I can get this straight, it should minimize surprises and maximize satisfaction. For both of us.

I too have often wondered this. Here’s one particular thing I always get confused about: in order to deal with most anything from maintenance to problem diagnosis more information is better (that is obvious on this site).

BUT, how much information is too much information? By knowing some things about cars and doing a lot of my own work I often go to the shop not only with symptoms but also with various information that should be diagnostically useful. E.g. I’ve wandered in knowing my DTCs already, and then giving whatever info I have that might be useful. Or I’ll explaining a symptom and why I think it might be related to this rather than that etc. I drive the car A LOT, EVERYDAY. I know its every sound, glitch, and feel. The guys at my shop don’t, so I figure I’m sometimes an important part of sorting things out.

But I often wonder how that can come across - as if I’m the amateur trying to tell the professional his business? People are usually polite, but so are the waiters before they spit in your soup.

For the greater part of my working life I have worked in service face to face with the customer. From airplanes, automobiles to electronics. I always expected the customer to treat me with respect and tell me what the problem was with the equipment. I have had a few go over that and try to tell me how to fix it, where i just simply gave him my tools and told him to do it. Back down very quick.