Ressurecting a 98 Jetta TDI that has been not been started in years

This is one of my childhood cars that I’ve had in the garage for probably about 3 years and have sadly neglected. It hasn’t been started up in at least 2 years. I’d like to turn this into a project car one day (maybe a grease-mobile) or something fun. I’m no exactly mechanically inclined, but I can read a Chiltons manual. What should I expect to have to do to get this car working? Currently what I know is that it has a dead battery, but I don’t want to try to just replace the battery and fire it up. There is some diesel currently in the tank.

Charge the battery and see if it can take and hold a charge. If not, get a new battery. You should plan on changing the oil, coolant, transmission, and brake fluids but I don’t see why you can see if it fires up and runs with a charged or new battery? If you get it running things like new fluids and new filters should be taken care of before you put it on the road and start driving it. Old belts, old hoses, old tires, and old brake lines should all be either inspected and/or replaced if you want a reliable car for any long trips.

Sitting for 2 years isn’t that hard on the engine, if it was in decent shape before it was last running. There is a real likelihood you will have brake problems. Frozen and/or sticking brake calipers are common due to rust and corrosion.

@themonkman‌

I highly recommend you do NOT convert the car to run on waste vegetable oil

Many of the people that have done this have severely regretted it later, because injectors, lines, hoses, etc. were leaking or plugged up soon afterward

A new battery, 5 gallons of fresh fuel, check the fluids, crank it up…How many miles on it?

Caddyman, It has 150K miles and was still running strong. No engine issues however I did get the timing chain replaced at 100K.