Getting a truck back on the road

My question concerns a 1999 Ford F-350 Super Duty Turbo Diesel that has been parked outside unmoved for several years. Aside from the obvious inspections of damages (rust, etc). If I charge the batteries up, is it safe to try to start it, should I drain the fluids, what are the first steps to even getting it moved? Getting it towed to a garage isn’t on yet, so what is the first step? I am new to this stuff and would appreciate any info from anyone here for a newcomer looking to learn some basics. Thanks.

You want to purchase the cheapest oil you can find and totally fill the engine with oil and let that oil sit in the engine for at least a week.

In the mean time you can figure out what else the vehicle is going to need.

After a week, drain the oil, pull the injectors and then try turning the engine over by hand at the crank bolt.

If the engine doesn’t turn over, move on to the next project.

Tester

How long, exactly, is “Several Years”?? Was the truck running properly when it was abandoned? How many miles are on it?

After 3 or 4 years, it’s doubtful the batteries will respond to charging…You can try, but a pair of new batteries will be among the first expense items…

The first step is to see if the engine will even turn over with power supplied by some outside source…I would do this before you invested $300 in a pair of new batteries…

Tester I had a very good condition 1973 Mustang 6 cylinder 3 speed manual that I parked on gravel beside the house for a little over a year. Nothing could free up the engine. after ATF and Marvel Mystery oil the pistons were still stuck. Towing it down the street and engaging the clutch had no effect. I sold it very cheap to a friend who had an engine.

… if I remember correctly I think I said that diesel fuel can go bad too in my original comment… I think I deleted it because I thought I might be wrong. but now I think I might be right so I ll put it back up