Replacing Air Bags

I am wondering if I should get the car fixed. I was in an accident and the air bags deployed, the windshield is cracked and the front headlight needs to be replaced. I do not have collision insurance so I would be paying out of pocket. Some people have said that when the air bags deploy it is too costly to fix. The is a 2002. It has about 83,000 miles on it and I still owe $2,300.00 on it.

Rita, Apparently You Decided To Save Money By Not Buying Collision Insurance.

You gambled and lost. I have collision coverage on all my cars because I’m not good at gambling. You possibly made a good bet by not having collision coverage, depending on how high your premiums would be.

A cracked windshield and air bag deployment are not good things. I’d bet you need more than a windshield, air bags and headlight, lots more. You no doubt have a car that is totalled, possibly two times over.

The reality of the situation:
Now you have a situation where you have a totalled car and owe $2,300 on it and you need to buy a car. All you can do is pay it off and sell the car “as is” or for salvage, for whatever you can get. Then go car shopping.

When you gamble, sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. I guess you’ll have to take all that money you saved by not having collision insurance and spend some of it.

Is the car driveable? Rita, just for more infomation, take the car to a couple of collision (or auto body) shops that give free estimates and get the estimates. Discuss them with the shops. That will give you a clearer picture of your options.

CSA

For a 2002 Cavalier consider it a total likely.

You may want to visit one or two body shops and see how little it can be fixed and reassess. Good luck.

Replacing air-bags can be very expensive…There could be other hidden damage also.