Replacing a Radiator

The radiator on my '97 Honda Accord (4cyl no vtech) is cracked. The crack is about 4 inches long, right on the top of the unit on the plastic part. How difficult would it be to replace the radiator myself? My boyfriend and I have some experience working on cars and are pretty handy. Everything I’ve found makes it look simple to replace. The shop wants $400 to $500, but I can get the parts for about $125. Should I do it on my own, or is it more difficult than it looks?

Autozone has a repair guide for the Accord, here is the section on radiator replacement. It should give you an idea what’s involved. The only tricky part might be disconnecting the automatic transmission cooler lines.

Here is the link, registration on the web site might be required but it’s free.

http://www.autozone.com/autozone/repairinfo/repairguide/repairGuideContent.jsp?chapterTitle=Engine+Mechanical&partName=Engine+And+Engine+Overhaul&pageId=0900c1528003a196&subChapterTitle=Radiator&partId=0900c1528003a053

Good luck,

Ed B.

On this vehicle not bad at all…Get a manual if uncertain on how to do it…

One of the simpler things to fix, just be patient, take pics to make sure you remember how it came apart. A Hayes or Chilton manual would be good to have.

The other thing to check is your motor mounts. My radiator cracked when my motor mounts went bad, letting the engine rock back and forth.

this would be a piece of cake.

Just a couple things to keep in mind. Make sure you take a good look at the replacement to make sure it is the same size, the hose fittings are the same, and if you have an automatic transmission, that the trans cooler fittings are the same. (I used NAPA) The only difficult part might be with the transmission cooler connections depending on whether they are hose clamps or fittings. If they are fittings, they can be a little hard to get off without twisting the lines.