Replacing 12v battery in toyota camry hybrid

I have a 2009 toyota camry hybrid. I am under the impression that changing the 12 volt battery can mess up the computer in the car. My hybrid is now 3 years old, and i am wondering how to know the battery is fading. My experience with oem batteries is that they last about three years and not much more. is the 12v battery in that car specific to hybrids? the expected workload is quite different for the hybrid. Can i change it myself as i have been doing it for my own cars for about 40 years?
Thanks,Lee in PA

You’re correct about disconnecting the 12 volt battery on some vehicles where it can cause problems with computers/modules. Here’s a link that describes this problem. http://www.aa1car.com/library/battery_disconnect_problems.htm

I suggest that you contact the dealer’s service department and ask them if any problems will arise from disconnecting the 12 volt battery in your vehicle.

Tester

There’s this adapter for a 9 volt battery to plug in your WORKING 12 volt outlet or cigarette lighter outlet which will maintain computer settings while the car battery is disconnected. Most places that replace batteries will use it.

I am a few years late to this discussion but I will try and add some good advice.

The OP (Original Post) asks five questions:

1. I am under the impression that changing the 12V battery can mess up the computer in the car.

The answers by #Tester and #pleasedodgevan2 are good. The best way of changing any modern car battery is to do like pleasedodgevan2 suggests. That is how I did it. Yes, you can simply pull out the old battery and put in a replacement but you will have some resetting to do afterwards (eg clock and possibly some other configuration settings on the dash). There are many more than just one “computer” in modern cars.

2. My hybrid is now 3 years old, and i am wondering how to know if the battery is fading.