Repeated Clutch Failure on 2004 Elantra

We need to replace the clutch on our 2004 Elantra for the 4th time! The dealer likes to insist that it is user caused although I have been driving stick shift cars for 2 decades and have never needed to replace the clutch on other vehicles including my 98 Neon which is still running with the original clutch. At this point I am convinced that the problem lies within the engineering. Have others had similar experiences? Your information will be helpful. If others believe a lawsuit would be the most effective means of correcting the situation, perhaps we could work together.

It would help if you could describe the actual clutch failures the dealer is finding.

Is the clutch disk worn?
Is the pressure plate blued/scorched/burned?
Is the dual-mass flywheel acting up?
Is the throwout bearing burned out?

What are the failure symptoms that you’re experiencing every time you need to bring it in?

You really need to provide some substantial details about these clutch repairs as to symptoms, what was or was not done or replaced, and whether or not anyone else has been behind the wheel of this car.

At this point you seem to be assuming the problem lies with the design and omitting the possibility of a faulty repair; if that’s even the case.

Thanks for your replies.

For this current iteration of clutch failure (the 4th clutch we will need for a 6 year old car), it is slipping 8 months after we got our 3rd clutch.

With the third failure, the dealer determined that the flywheel and clutch were worn. (They were only about 1.5 years old) We had the clutch, flywheel, and the slave cylinder replaced.