Removing a whole bumper vs spot painting a small scratch

I got a 2 inch deep scratch on the left side of my front bumper where the paint is completely chipped off. I asked a few auto repair shops around to see if they can repaint the scratch. All have said that they would need to remove the whole bumper and do a 3 stage color. I tried asking if they could just tape off the small area around the scratch to spray it because I think it’s a bit excessive to remove THE WHOLE bumper for a small scratch on just one spot. However almost everyone said they did not recommend it because either:

1.) their shop can’t do a spot fix on a 3 stage color (my car color is pearl white)
2.) their shop can do a spot fix but it would not last long and this car is newly bought so i would be keeping it for a few years.

I am really leaning on doing a spot fix since it’s cheaper and faster (I am a full time commuting student so I can’t spare anymore than 2 days in the shop) but knowing that spot paint longevity and quality may not be the best concerns me. Also I am not very knowledgeable about car stuff so I really need help with this decision. Should I choose a full bumper repaint or a spot paint job?

If you want it done right, repaint the entire bumper.

Tester

1 Like

why not live with the scratch until you have the time and funds to get it done correctly? for now you can by a small bottle of touch up paint. it comes with a small brush attached to the inside of the cap. just fill in the scratch. your paint color code is on a tag on the door jamb so you can get the correct color.

2 Likes

That’s a good point. I guess I’ve just been too stressed out lately to stop and rationally think about just living with the scratch for now and get it properly fixed when I have the means to in the future. I’m also so bummed out that my brand new car already has a big scratch that I wanted to fix it asap when it could honestly wait. Thank you.