Rear O? sensor on a '98 Camry XLE

I’m a car-repair novice trying to get my car to pass its emmissions test. I already replaced my front O? sensor when the auto parts store incorrectly told me that bank 1, sensor 1 was the front sensor. Now I actually have what should be the correct part, but I’m not sure where the rear sensor is/the best way to get to it. If anyone could type me through it, I would really appreciate it!

You need to stop blindly changing parts. Most sensors can be tested to verify good/bad.

Does the check engine light come on? If so, you need to get the error code scanned off the computer and post it here. It will look like P0123.

In what way does your car fail emissions? What are the limits in your state for HC, CO and NOx and what is your car putting out.

Circuitsmith is right about not accepting diagnostic codes at face value. Generally not a good idea.

However O2 sensors look to be something of an exception. Most diagnostic codes could have many causes other than the obvious, but diagnostic codes that specifically refer to O2 sensors really are caused by either the O2 sensor or the computer/computer programming. Odds are that your O2 sensor really is bad or terminally ill assuming that the computer didn’t just set the code in order to liven up an otherwise dull afternoon. You might try clearing the code and seeing if it comes back.

The converse is not true BTW. Failing O2 sensors that haven’t completely died can easily cause problems to be reported elsewhere in the powertrain.

Anyway, if your Camry is like my 1999 4 cylinder, the downstream O2 sensor is in the exhaust pipe one connection to the rear of the catalytic converter. Pretty much under the shift lever. I could be off by a foot or two about exactly where it is. I’d go out and check that, but it’s really wet outside. It’ll be the only sensor in the exhaust pipe after the catalytic converter.