RCA's prediction from 1964

… was extremely accurate, but they didn’t specify when these features would become commonplace.
I suggest that you zoom the image to 200% in order to read the text.

1 Like

I love it. Back then both RCA and Bell Labs were busy inventing the future. Right here in New Jersey.

1 Like

… and sadly, they are both a part of history. The last fragment of RCA is the old Sarnoff Laboratories, now named SRI International. Most people owned records that were made at the RCA factory in Camden, but it’s long gone.

1 Like

The building is still standing, but it’s apartments now. A friend of mine lives there. It still has the stained glass windows with “nipper” the dog in the tower.

1 Like

Back in 1957 as a high school student, I bought a one transistor radio kit from the Allied Radio catalogue. This radio kit had the latest features: a transistor and a printed circuit board. The radio would pick up only the local AM stations. We had discussions back then as to whether or not the transistor would replace the vacuum tube in radios, televisions, and high fidelity equipment. As I remember, the transistor was developed in Bell Labs about 1949.