Questions about engine maintenance for a 1995 Lexus ES300?

Hi,

I have a 1995 Lexus ES300. My grandparents gave me this car about 5 years ago, and I know they did all the scheduled maintenance and took very good care of it. The car is in pretty good shape right now, but to be honest, I have not spent much money on maintenance the past 5 years. I took it in for an oil change/check-up and the mechanic recommended I get a new alternator belt and p/s belt because they are both severely cracked, transmission flush, power steering flush, coolant flush.

I am willing to spend money, but I just want to make sure these things are necessary. Is there any site/manual that will tell me what type of maintenance I should be doing at specific mile intervals. I currently have 160,000 miles on my car and I want to keep it for as long as possible! With that being said, I am a student, so I don’t have much money, but I have a few hundred right now to spend on maintenance.

Thanks for the help!!! Much appreciated…

You don’t need a website.
Simply open the glove compartment, take out the Owner’s Manual (or possibly a separate maintenance booklet), and read the maintenance schedule provided by Toyota/Lexus. It is probably reasonable to assume that your grandparents did not dispose of the manual and other documentation that came with the car, so these things should be in the glove box.

The maintenance schedule that comes with most cars only goes as far as 120k miles. After 120k, you are supposed to return to the 30k maintenance schedule when you reach 150k miles, use the the 60k maintenance schedule at 180k miles, etc.

Since you have apparently not done much other than oil changes for at least 5 years, it is likely that MUCH vital maintenance has been skipped. Case in point would be the timing belt. If this has never been changed, it is overdue by many years and many thousands of miles. Failure to change it will result in engine damage that could well exceed the book value of the car.