Possible causes of a shaking engine?

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here, I have a 2001 Mazda B3000 that was running fine until yesterday. I had spun the truck around to empty water from the bed after washing it when it started to run rough, before I could diagnose anything it started shaking badly and gave me a light then a blinking light. I immediately shut it off and checked everything. Found one plug wire that had been touching and burned through, replaced that and it was still rough. Replaced the ignition coil and still rough. Now I find out I’m firing on all but the #1 cylinder which is still getting spark. Going to do a compression test tomorrow but not sure if it could be something other than a valve or head gasket. Any ideas? BTW, the truck has ran for less than 5 minutes from the time the light started blinking so I’m not sure how much damage could be done in that short of a time. Thank you!

You might try swapping the fuel injector from cylinder #1 to another cylinder to see if the miss moves with the injector.

If it does, that’s the problem.

Tester

I’m not the most vehicle savvy person, literally figuring everything out as I go with with car stuff. There’s wet gas on the spark plug when I pull it off while all the others are dry, would that rule out an injector?

No.

The injector could be stuck open dumping gasoline into that cylinder.

Tester

Gotcha, will give it a go tomorrow then! Anything to avoid a $1600 repair on an $800 truck at this point. Thank you!

"I’m not the most vehicle savvy person, literally figuring everything out as I go"
You’re doing great so far. You’ve managed to trace the shaking to cylinder #1 and posit a good theory based on sound evidence.

You might want to go easy on the spinning the truck activities, however. 15 year old Mazda pickups will inevitably revolt against that type of treatment.