Popping/crunching from rear

Ok… so I have a 1997 Taurus that I just put new tires on. Immediately after, I started noticing an occasional pop/crunch sound from the left rear. It may have been there before the tire change, but it may be new (the old tires were NOISY, but I’d be surprised if they could have covered up this noise).

I switched the rear tires to see if the noise would move, but I haven’t heard it since.

I also inspected the left rear brakes. Naturally with 12 year old drums, there was a fair amount of rust, but the brakes and all their components were there and in their proper place (new shoes and assorted hardware 2 years ago) with no visible signs of unusual wear. Brake dust galore, of course. The wheel bearing was nice and smooth and had absolutely no movement when I yanked on the tire.

The one thing I did notice with the brakes that may (or may not, I am not a professional) be an issue - when I applied the parking brake, a gap opened between the top of the shoe and the wheel cylinder. The cylinder slowly expanded to close this gap (took about 30 sec). I’m not sure if this is unusual or a sign of a problem with the cylinder.

Braking is good, and the car tracks nice and straight. No signs of loss of brake fluid anywhere, and no discoloration noticed. I have not tried bleeding from the left rear to check for any obstructions.

Any suggestions? Thoughts? Is there something I’m missing? Or is this most likely a bum tire (Yokohama Avid)? Thanks in advance!

Edit:

I should add the sound is only noticeable at low speeds…

Update:

Sound returned, still from the left rear. It isn’t the tires. Still looking for advice…

Occurred intermittently this morning when accelerating out from a stop. Sounds a bit like a spring popping, but all springs seemed to be in excellent condition. I’m guessing the shoes aren’t retracting smoothly for some reason.