Please Help with my 5.7 Vortec!

Hello everybody. I’m new to this car community thing but I am at a dead end everywhere I turn with this truck. Please bear with me guys as I will go into great detail to ensure you all can try and find the problem; I will try and keep it short. Last Friday, I jumped on a 1997 Tahoe 2x4 with the 5.7 Vortec. The guy only wanted 1400$ so I couldn’t refuse. It has 334000 on the motor and 60000 on the rebuilt transmission which is stock. Perfect project truck. I immediately noted a very slow start into a very rough idle at about 500rpms. The previous owner stated when he rebuilt the transmission, he also replaced the distributor cap and rotor and that it would be wise to replace the entire distributor in which I did. With a little bit of fine tuning of the timing I was idling smoother but still missing on cylinder 5. I replaced all the plugs and wires and still no change. I cleaned the cold air intake filter before all of this and oiled. Now, for some reason that I can’t understand, the truck will crank but never start. It’s actually blowing air and fire out of the throttle body as soon as it should be starting. It’s actually trying to push the filter out of the box sometimes. I guess that’s called a backfire? The only way it will crank and start is if somebody holds the butterfly valve open on the throttle body and even then it is a very rough idle and as soon as I put it into gear, it stalls. When I bought it, it was showing a P0300 code which is the random misfire lean/rich code. I just don’t understand how it ran before and when I put intake manifold back on, everything is different and inoperable. Please help me out guys, I am welcome to any constructive criticism.

Hopefully you didn’t use to much oil and ruin your MAF sensor.

1 Like

If the intake manifold was off, you had to remove the distributor, which leads me to think…

You installed the distributor 180 degrees out of time, I think.