PCV valve replacement

My 99 Saturn SL2 has been loosing oil (about a quart every 2-3 thousand miles) and it seems a possible culprit is the PCV valve.

So how exactly do I determine if the PCV valve should be replaced? Based on my records I got it replaced previously a bit less than 2 years and around 15000 miles ago.

Also, from my understanding a fouled valve could happen if I’m not changing my oil often enough. (I’ve been changing every ~3000 miles, regardless of the time between changes; it can sometimes be as much as 8 months.) However, if I should have been changing my oil more often, I suppose that might lead to it fouling up quicker?

My driving habits are such that I wouldn’t think it would be a problem. Despite the sometimes 6-8 months that sometimes go between changes, I do most of my driving on the highway in several hundred mile chunks. To explain, I’m a graduate student, so during school months, I typically only drive once or twice a week to pick up groceries and run errands. I put the real mileage on during the summer or when I travel during breaks. (This translates to roughly 2400 miles of every 3000 was done on the highway, traveling between locations several hours apart.)

One quart of oil every 2000-3000 miles is not a problem. A PCV valve is cheap and easy to replace, but I doubt that replacing the PCV valve will change the situation. You have an 11 year old car and some new cars use more than a quart of oil every 2000 miles. My first year of graduate school I had a 1947 Pontiac that I bought for $75 to make the 350 trip from home to the University where I did my master’s degree. It used a quart of oil every 250 miles. Fortunately, discount stores were just coming into existence about this time (1962) so I would buy a case of cheap oil and add a quart when necessary.