Novice Question: about Honda Odyssey 2007 blowing cold on passenger side but neutral on driver's side

1. The AC on the driver’s side on Valerie Odyssey 2007 is not blowing cold but the passenger side is.
  2. Therefore I’m assuming it’s not for a lack of Freon if one side is cold.
  3. I took off the actuator and manually moved the levers and I can get it to blow warm or neutral but never cold. That’s what is stumping me. Why would it not blow cold by manually changing the levers? I was intending to replace the actuator but if it’s still not cold then what good would that do? Unless there’s something in the actuator that says “ kick in the ac” and without it – it just blows.

I’m a real novice at this so please speak car 101 back to me…thanks :wink:

Some systems when low on refrigerant will blow warm on one side, there isn’t enough refrigerant passing though the evaporator coil to cool it from one end to the other.

With the A/C on feel the temperature of the suction line from the firewall (the larger diameter line), it should be cool/cold if the system is fully charged and working properly.

Just out of curiosity, does your van have two sided AC control? On my newer CR-V we have two readouts, so the driver and passenger can chose their favorite temperatures.