Not Happy with Repairs - any advice

Greetings! Recently the struts on my 1998 Honda CRV locked up when it was lifted up for some other work. I took it to a new shop with great prices and excellent reviews.

They only replaced the front shocks and said it was working great and good to go. I have been driving it for a few days and am just not happy with it. It feels tight when it drives and still bouncier than I’d like. It doesn’t drive like my great little car before the shock issue.

This is my first time at this shop and am not sure if I trust them. Any advice for moving forward?

I looked at your other thread and my feeling is that no matter what repairs or what shop does it you are not going to be satisfied . Your 1998 is never going to feel like it did before all of these repairs because apparently you had been driving with worn out parts for a long time.
It may be just time to move up to a new or newer vehicle .

6 Likes

you vehicle is fairly light. new functioning shocks on the front wheels only might be the issue. maybe you had 4 totally mushy shocks to start with? so, now you have 2 good struts and 2 bad struts? i bet putting new rear shocks on will make the crv ride even stiffer.
i replaced 1 completely shot, zero functioning front strut. the 2nd front strut was very worn also but still had some function left. the ride is quieter, no knocks but is barely any firmer. its certainly not noticable. but it weighs 3900lbs

The shop did nothing wrong. The replacement parts are nearly always firmer than the original parts because they are designed to compensate for all the other stuff that is worn.

Get used to it or sell the car.

1 Like