New car

I have been driving a Honda Accord for 16 years, but the rust is making me want to replace it. It has been the most reliable car ever, but I’m wanting a Volvo C30. My concern is how reliable will this car be if I keep it for many years. I can’t afford to pay alot in maintenance over the years and got so comfortable with the Honda’s reliability. Any thoughts on how expensive this car will be down the road to keep?

Considering Volvo’s recent reputation, I’d say you can safely assume a C30 will cost substantially more to maintain over time than your Accord.

I agree the Volvo will be more expensive. You can check the owner’s manuals of both cars and see how the maintenance schedules differ. Honda’s usually have more time and miles before requiring tune ups and timing belts.

As far as parts breaking and needing replacement as the cars age, advantage Honda again. Volvo parts are very expensive, Honda parts are just expensive. Volvo labor from a dealer is the highest in any locale, Honda is usually close to the norm. Lots of Honda dealers if you have a bad experience with one you can find another. Volvo dealers are few and far between, you’ll feel stuck if you have an issue with the Volvo dealers service dept.

The Volvo will be OK while under warranty. After warranty expires repairs will be needed almost immediately and then get more frequent as the car ages. From 10 years on the repairs costs budget should be $2,000 per year for the Volvo.

If you want the Volvo, get it but don’t plan to keep it past 5 years. If you want to keep your car for another 16 years the Honda is a better bet.

Agree with other posters. My brother is ready to replace his very reliable 1987 Honda Accord, and will likely buy another Honda.