New Car Wet After Rain

I have a 2014 Toyota Corolla which I’ve been leasing for the past 7 months. It only has 3,500 miles. Today it was raining hard and after driving about 20 miles in the morning and 15 in the evening I noticed that the front passenger side carpet was soaking wet. I pushed on it and it was squishy with water. I checked the rest of the car and the back passenger side was also wet, not as wet though. I did not drive through deep puddles or ever hit anything with this car. The windows were not open and the mats were only wet on the bottom. Anyone ever experience this in a new car? What could be causing this and what should I do? Does lemon law cover this?

In most states, the Lemon Law only covers a problem that “materially affects the safety or drivability of the vehicle”. While I empathize with you about this problem, it might be a bit of a stretch to claim that leaking rain water constitutes either a safety hazard or a drivability problem.

In any event, it is typical that 3 failed repair attempts must have taken place before you can successfully invoke the Lemon Law. Why don’t you at least give the dealership ONE repair attempt before you begin thinking of legal claims?

You want to take it back to the dealer and have them investigate it, but you need to get that carpet dried out pronto before mold can set in. It needs to be vacuumed and dried and the pad underneath. You don’t want to get hit with the cost of replacing moldy carpet and pad when you turn it in.