Never-Seez on sparkplug threads?

I’m about to change the plugs on my 2007 Dodge Dakota 4.7 for the first time. Should I use Never-Seez on the threads?

Yes. Apply a thin coat to the threads. Also apply dielectric grease to the inside of all the boots of the plug wires, plug and coil ends.

@df1995

No

Just install the plugs

Use a torque wrench if you’ve got one

Don’t put anything on the threads

You will get a whole evening’s worth of reading with the responses you will get here and with doing a little searching on the web.

FWIW, I’m a professional mechanic and my opinion is to use the original make and type of plug and never use anti-seize. How strongly do I feel about that? I had a guy working for me who insisted on using anti-seize despite multiple requests not too. I finally threw away the bottle.

Spark plugs seizing in the head is simply not a problem if they are correctly installed, save for the Ford 3-valve engines. I’ve seen damage from plugs coming out because they were too loose, I’ve seen plugs seized because they were cross-threaded, I’ve seen stripped threads from overtightening. None of which would have been helped with anti-seize.

I’ve never used an anti-seize product on spark plugs and I have removed and replaced hundreds of them. Just be cautious and pay attention and you shouldn’t have any trouble at all. If you treat a spark plug like a bolt…you will have problems.

Anti sieze is not necessary. But if you’re worried about the plugs freezing in the head, dab a little engine oil on the plug threads first. The oil will carbonize from the heat of the engine and essentially act like graphite lube when you remove them. I’ve done this on my own cars for 20+ years and never had a problem.

You’ve asked a question for which no sciemtific answer exists. Whether to use anitseize on spark plug threads is really a matter of preference. I’ve never used it in over 40 years and never had a problem.

I do, however, often use it on other threads.