Anti-seize and torque

I’ve read that if one uses anti-seize on spark plugs it lubricates them and can create inaccurate readings on a torque wrench when installing. I’ve never seen a standard recommendation for how much to reduce the torque, but I’m about to tackle a Subaru Outback, and Subaru recommends reducing the recommended torque by 1/3. Since the recommended torque is about 15 ft. lbs., that would mean only 10 ft. lb. of torque. Is that about the right amount of correction or would 12 ft. lbs. be OK without stripping anything? Just seems low to me, but I’m no expert.

spark plugs are always very little torque

12 ft lbs will be fine.

Just be sure when you install the plugs that you do so “gingerly” and allow the threads to start by themselves. Trying to force them is when they get stripped, and that’s as bad as (and often a precursor to) stripping them.

I’d sure like to know what kind of car we’re talking about and how often you change the plugs. I’ve never used anti-seize and I torque the plugs to spec. Unless I planned to leave them in for a really long time, I’d not bother with anti-seize.

I always use anti-seize and never torque plugs, In 50+years of doing it I have never stripped one or had one get loose. It doesn’t take much to seat them, I just hold the head of the 3/8 ratchet under the base of my middle fingers and turn.

I believe I mentioned it was an Outback. With the Subaru engine design it’s a bit of a chore to get at the plugs since you have to remove some other components. I’m thinking I’d be less inclined to change them as frequently as I do on my Camrys. I would think it’s better to not need anti-seize but still use it as opposed to finding out too late that things are stuck together.

NGK recommends NOT to use anti-seize on their plugs that have a special coating. Not sure about other plugs. I’ve been using NGK plugs exclusively for the past 20+ years.