My Ford F 150's clicking?

Morning,

I’m not a mechanic but have been one when cars were a lot simpler.

I bought this 1999 F 150 ( on e bay )with a 5.4 liter V8. Upon inspection everything seemed relatively as described. I met the guy half way between our houses for the pick up.

However when I get it home and start it the next day there’s a faint clicking. This clicking gets louder as the truck warms up, it crescendos then stops completely when the truck is warm. To me it sounds like a sticking lifter? But I’m told my motor doesn’t have those.

So my question is two part

A) what could that clicking be?

B) Do you ( or anyone ) recommend some kind of engine flush? ( Or something else for that matter?

Shelby4ken is Stumped on Long Island

Good news-stops so aint a dropped vlv seat!!If last owner ran real thin 5W 20 oil, try thicker/synthetic. I’d go around her W/ a long stick to my ear to find it, old school.

Yes, you could have an oil related problem, but there are a few other possibilities. Exhaust leaks can make funny noises. Fuel injectors make faint clicking noises that you should be able to hear with the hood open. You didn’t mention how many miles are on the truck. Your engine has a good lot of timing chain for those overhead camshafts so I would suggest synthetic oil only, in an attempt to make them last as long as you can. Castrol Syntec is my favorite if you change your own oil. Those engines with roller lifters, such as my Chevy 4.8 are their own complicated affair so you aren’t secure no matter which type of engine you have. Your engine would have cost a fortune in the sixties. Nothing to worry about, unless you like worrying. You also have drive belt rollers, alternator bearings, AC bearing, and there is a chance that you have something that resembles lifters in those heads.

The ticking could still be a lifter…well, a tappet anyway.