My 15 year old dilema

Hey guys this will be my second post. Last post was about a car I wanted to purchase I got some good feedback which I ended not buying.

So now here I am I currently found a 2005 Honda Civic EX with 25,000 miles I did a Carfax, autocheck, and a title check by a .gov approved site everything came out good, clean title no odometer rollback, although one accident came out in 2008 but it was labeled as minor on all reports. All service has been documented on the reports and the car has been for all it’s time a local car. So I do like the vehicle I’m a college student on a budget. I do not travel far farthest would be 20 miles.

So here I am asking for advice. Would a 2005 Honda Civic with 25k miles be worth buying? It’s selling for $5,000 and my budget is $7,000 would you guys be kind enough to give me your opinions or experience owning an older model Honda. Thank you here is one image of the vehicle.

Get it inspected and decide from there. I am always suspicious of an old model car with only a few miles. For that matter it could have been in a lake for the last 8 years

Edit: you might also want to find out how long it has been for sale. Under normal circumstances this car should have sold within hours. Days or weeks it’s a dead giveaway that something is very wrong.

6 Likes

Take it for a test drive.

I would wonder if a vehicle of this age and really low miles has even had any of the scheduled service done. Just buy it and hope for the best , used vehicles are a gamble anyway .

If this car has had more that a couple of owners, like 5 or 6, run away! A 5 owner, low mileage car screams “problem child” loud and clear to me. That old with that few miles with 1 or 2 owners (sometimes the leasing co.) says “grandma car” loud and clear.

It does appear to be a good deal IF and only IF a mechanic gives it a thumbs up after inspection. It is below your budget and as such leaves money for repairs. Like 2 oil changes closer together than normal.