Moldy Interior - what should i do?

My kids spilt milk in the backseat of my Toyota Corolla. We used bleach several times to try to clean it out, baking soda and even went to a professional to get it cleaned. Nothing works and it still smells horrid. Even though i open the windows every night to air it out. Think the entire right back seat is molded through. I have two young kids and think its bad for them to inhale all the mold spores. Any advice? Should i keep trying to clean it myself? Replace the back seats? sell the car? If you think it should replace the car seats can you advice how i would do that? How much it would cost. Please be as detailed as possible i have little experience with cars. Thanks a lot!

I would not worry too much about mold spores. There are thousands of kinds of mold and only a fraction of them are allergenic and only a handful are toxic.

Did you pull the seat out to clean it? People spill milk and worse things in cars all the time. Remove the seat. Use a furniture attachment on a carpet shampoo machine. Once it dries, it should not be noticeable.

Unless they spilled gallons of milk, it’s unlikely that there’s enough down there to support a mold colony large enough to be hazardous. Is it possible that something else is stinking? Have you tried hosing it with Lysol to the point where the seat is sopping? (if you do this, leave the windows open to air out before you drive it, plus keep in mind that Lysol contains alcohol and if you use enough the vapors could become flammable)

Are you sure the smell is in the rear seat? Usually these smells disappear over time. How long has it been since the “incident”?