Mini dealerships and msrp

We are looking for a second car for our family. We wanted something with AWD, good mpg and under 30 grand. We were very impressed by the mini countryman. I am not very good with negotiations, but did my research. Kelley blue book doesnt have 2012 fair purchase price’ but the 2011 fair purchase price is $800 below msrp. I thought coming inthe last week of the year I would be able to get about 1 grand below msrp. I was surprised when the dealer said they dont go below msrp. This is the only mini dealer within150 miles. I know mini is a popular brand now and they allow a lot of personalization, but is it true they do not do negotiation (like the old Saturns)?
Also anyone hear of any problems with the 2012 Mini Countryman?
Thanks

Looks like the dealer knows that they are the only game in town and are pricing their cars accordingly.

There is no reason you can’t call a dealer 200 miles away and buy there. Note: Once you buy the car, you don’t need to return to that same dealer, nor may that closer dealer refuse to honor the warranty or repairs.

BTW my wife has a Mini and is very happy with it. I would consider one myself if I need a new car some day.

Make the dealer an offer of your best price in writing. Prove you have the money to make the purchase. Leave you name and contact info with the sales rep and or manager and walk out the door. Walking away shifts the power from them to you. Meanwhile shop other dealers for the same make and shop other brands of cars too. If they want the deal, they’ll call you.

Go to an “on-line” web site, AutoTrader.com, or ebay and see what prices you can get online. Most dealers have online pricing and perhaps the dealer you are talking to has an online site and pricing.

go to the Mini web site (www.mini.com). Enter your zip code in the search box in the upper right corner and press enter. You will get a map with mini dealers on it. Check with all the dealers and see what they want for the car.