Michelin stored USED TIRES; GREAT TREAD, but are they safe?

Michelin, set of 4.
Stored inside another vehicle, yes kept out of elements, but auto NOT GARAGED!
I know nothing about tires.
Please assist me.

4 years ago I removed them from the Buick.
I placed the tires inside other vehicle, parked by garage, so tire not as much sun hit them.
But what of heat inside a parked auto?
Could it, and did it likely effect tire composition?

GREAT TREAD REMAINING!!
IKE NDW!!
We’re nearly new when I removed them for winter.
FYI, than suffered TBI, and now disabled.
That is the HOW tires were in auto tucked away so long.

Your opinions ions and working knowledge is appreciated!!

NO VISIBLE CRACKS WHATSOEVER!
Please assist me with this serious situation, since I have no knowledge of tires.

Thank you so much!

My apologies for oddities in spelling, on a cheaper tablet…
Be patient with me please.

Your screen name suggests you have a family. You have doubts about tires so why ask on the internet. Tires are important and these are well past the replacement age. Take them to a tire store and have them looked at.

1 Like

4 year old tire baked inside a closed vehicle? Is that what you are describing? That is not the proper way to store tires.

I would be surprised if they aren’t as had as a wooden 2x4! Tires age harden whether you drive them or not and wet traction is very dependent on the softness of the rubber as well as tread depth. I would not use them.

I suspect that these tires are far older than just 4 years, as they were removed from the OP’s Buick before being baked inside another vehicle for 4 years. For all we know, those tires could have been on the OP’s old Buick for 5 or more years before they were removed–and that only serves to strengthen my opinion that these tires are over-aged, and in the interest of safety, should not be used.

2 Likes

Not everyone knows what you are trying to say and some of us don’t intend to learn what apparently is twitter speak.

1 Like