Mechanic Ripped Me Off

OK, I’m not a mechanic: Two shops–one the dealership–told us the rack & pinion needed to be replaced to fix our power steering fluid leak (2001 VW Golf). A third shop tells us it’s the steering pump… a lot cheaper. We took the bait & now they’re telling us the rack & pinion needs replacing & that replacing the pump was part of the investigative process.

I feel cheated. Should I?

Not cheated but diagnosis was not as good. I think they should cut a break on profit portion of the PS pump replacement on part/labor if you perform the steering rack change.

Thanks Raj. That’s what my wife advocates for.

It sounds like the second shop throws parts at a problem instead of diagnosing the issue. You might try to find another shop for second opinions in the future.

The pump and the rack are two completely separate. They should have been able to tell where the leak was coming from. It’s like if you had a water leak and two guys said it was the toilet, and the last guy said it was the sink. They have the same fluid, and are in the same room. However it should be easy to tell which one is leaking. Your being taken.

"I feel cheated. Should I?"

Yes.

I don’t sound flippant but I wouldn’t go back.
The ‘investigative process’ will help them determine whether you are willing to bleed more money.
A good diagnostician does not need to replace parts to figure out what’s actually wrong. If that was indeed the way to fix stuff, why don’t we load a shotgun with buckshot, aim it under the hood and replace the parts that got hit?