M20 trans not shifting into 3 and 4

I have an m20 trans from 1967 I believe. I don’t really have much of a history of it and before my engine blew it felt great. When I took it out I tried to go through the gears with just the small levers and it did fine. Now it’s having a lot of trouble going to 3 and 4. It can go into reverse, 1 and 2 just fine. When I try and pull the 3/4 lever by hand it makes a grinding sound. Note this is all on a workbench out of the car. Does this mean I need new forks or something a lot more drastic? Do I just need it to line up or something? I’m pretty new to all of this so I’m not sure where to start looking. Thanks for any help.

I would think the M20 was full synchro by this point in time? I’m pretty sure thats correct. Difficulty going into those particular gears could be a synchro issue inside the trans. The synchros are what basically spin up the next gear until stasis is reached between the two…so that you can enter the next higher up gear. The synchros come into play literally between gear shifts…as you exit 3rd…and start to push into 4th…the sych spins up 4th to a speed allowing easy gear mesh. When they fail they dont spin up the next gear…so its difficult to enter it.

This diagnosis changes if you literally cannot get into 4th whatsoever tho… That would be a fork issue if you can never ever get into 4th

Maybe one of our Trans guys will correct me, but that’s my take on the shituation.

3 Likes

An M20 trans is a bit coarse overall. Gears, that is. The trans is designed to shift into 3rd and 4th while rotating. If you can have someone turning the input shaft while you are doing this you might find it drops right in with limited clash.

If I had any doubt, I’d open the trans up and take a look… and maybe take it apart for a better look.

BTW, you are putting the 1-2 lever into its neutral position between 1-2 when you try for 3rd, right?

4 Likes