Low Drone Sound in '05 Honda Civic, Above 35 mph

Hello -

My 2005 Honda Civic (Ex, manual tranny) has 33k miles on it and still seems to be going strong without any major issues.

But recently I’ve started hearing a different sound, kind of a low drone, but only when the car seems to be in the range of 35 - 55 mph. (It might also exist at higher speeds, but the road/wind noises certainly drown it out) It happens regardless of whether the clutch is engaged or not (so coasting it exists as well).

My hunch - and I have little experience in this area - is that it might be a bad bearing in one of the front wheels? It’s too hard to tell exactly where it comes from (being a low drone), but I think my passengers all agree it’s coming from the front of the car. Any merit to this?

Thanks!

Brett

Yes, a droning sound is usually the sign of a bearing going bad. This is one of those problems you want to have fixed ASAP. A bad wheel bearing that suddenly breaks can cause you to lose control. Please have it looked at.

It could also be “cupping” on the tire treads. Lightly brush your hand over the tire treads, one way then the other. If it feels rougher in one direction there’s cupping.

33K is pretty low to have a wheel bearing problem, but it is possible. If it is a wheel bearing there’s a good chance the sound will change when you turn.

To find out about the tires, you can swap front to back and see if it changes anything. I would try that first, and then have the wheel bearings checked if nothing changes. As noted, the bearings aren’t anything to mess with.

When the front wheel bearings went bad on my 2000 Blazer, I thought the droning noise was coming from the new tires at the time. If the bearings are bad, the pitch of the noise should change when the steering wheel is turned off-center (i.e. changing lanes).

Ed B.