Love my ‘03 GTI, Seeking a Comparable Replacement

It’s time for me to part with my 2003 GTI 1.8 T.
I’ve heard that the newer models tend to have more issues.

I’m looking for a used car that may be comparable. That has about 60,000 miles and in the $10K to $15,000 range.

Features that I like:
I am a shorter driver (5’2) and like the smaller size, adjustable features, and visibility.
It has a nice balance of pep, agility and fuel economy. I like driving my manual transmission, but an automatic is okay.
As for bells and whistles, sunroof, backup cam, nav, and seat heat are preferable.

Thanks

Mazda 3 would be an option, not as fast, but still fun.

How about another VW Golf?

My Volkswagen days are behind me, but back in the day, must have been early 80s, 83 or 84 with manual transmission, I had a GTI company car furnished to me. It was an absolute blast to drive, had a character all its own, and drew the attention of law enforcement officers everywhere I tried to keep it under the legal speed limits.

My guess is, and I’ve never been in a more recent version, that the GTI cannot be replaced by anything “comparable.”

I’d search for a lightly used, low mileage, clean title GTI in Florida and buy that.
https://sarasota.craigslist.org/cto/d/bradenton-w2012-vw-gti-low-miles-well/7134915571.html

https://fortmyers.craigslist.org/col/cto/d/naples-vw-gti-20/7133141088.html

CSA
:palm_tree: :sunglasses: :palm_tree:

Thanks. I started looking at some. Are they more reliable than VW GTI’s?

It’s tempting. I just know that every time I consider selling mine and talked with different mechanics about what years are best for the Golf GTI’s they all said they liked the mkiv’s. At my local VW the staff is in parts and maintenance were all holding onto theirs. They said the new models are coming back into the shop a lot more than the older models.
That’s the only reason I’m hesitant. Have you had good experiences with them?