Loading Stuff Into Trunk

I need to load objects up to 50 pounds in and out of my car. They’re amplifiers, and I’m a musician. I need to take them to and from gigs. Trouble is, I’m 60 years old. Sooner or later I’m going to slip a disc or bust a gut. I’m looking for a car (new or used) that gets good mileage (not a truck – a mini-SUV would be okay) and has a semi-large freight area whose rear loading height is 24 inches (or less). It should have a flat bed, not the kind of hump that you get when you fold down the rear seat. Ideally, I’d like a tuck-away freight ramp so I can roll things up into the bed, but I suppose that’s too much to hope for.

The Honda Element measures 27 inches at the rear, and I’m sure there’s no loading ramp. (Hey, maybe a pulley system to lift things? Nah, that’s a fantasy.)

Has anyone wrestled with this dilemma? Suggestions? Thanks!

--Jim Aikin

You say you don’t want trucks. Why not? A 4 cylinder Ford Ranger gets decent mileage, has a large cargo area, flat, low loading deck, room for a ramp and hand truck (if so desired) and can be had fairly cheap. I think that would be your best bet.

A truck bed wouldn’t protect sensitive electronic gear (to say nothing of my cello) against rain. But I’m willing to consider ways of dealing with that, if anyone can suggest a truck that has a loading height of 24 inches or less (tailgate to ground). I’m betting there isn’t one, but I wouldn’t bet money, because I could easily be wrong.

Oh, and I forgot to mention thieves. No, a pickup simply wouldn’t do the job. If I have to park it somewhere on a street for ten minutes, someone could walk off with my stuff. Sure, I could add a shell, but that’s an added cost…

I wouldn’t put expensive sensitve electronics in the back of a pickup.