Commercial vehocle

I am a contractor in San Francisco California. I install Artisan plasters and wall treatments so I need a vehicle that can carry my tools, (buckets, trowels, mixing equipment) and materials. Typically the plaster I use comes in 50 pound bags and I need to be able to transport up to 10 bags at a time. I am looking for a used vehicle that gets good gas mileage, is comfortable for long trips, has a medium cargo capacity that is easy to access and small enough to park in the city. I don’t like any of the large cargo vans and want something that will project an image of professionalism as well as be fun to drive. I’ve looked at Toyota RAV 4, Honda Odyssey, Sienna, Mazda MPV and VW Eurovan. I like the looks of the VW Eurovan but have heard they are trouble. Do you have any suggestions?

I used to work for a place that used a 2006 Scion xB (the box) in that sort of capacity. I would occasionally load it up to probably around 650 pounds plus driver and, though you could really feel the extra weight power-wise going over mountain passes and the like, if you distributed the weight pretty evenly with the seats folded back it handled it pretty well. And for a car that gets over 32mpg on the highway, the available volume is pretty darn good, though one drawback is that with the back seats up, the cargo room is much more limited.

The Odyssey and the Sienna are both reliable quality vehicles. If you get one made in 2002, you can probably remove the rear seats rather than fold them into the floor. I think this would give you more storage space and relieve the vehicle of some of its weight, giving you slightly higher weight capacity for your cargo. I sould also look at the Toyota Tacoma and consider a cover for the truck bed. It might meet your needs slightly better than a minivan.

A small pickup with a cap.

Chevy HHR. They are available as a panel van, and that would probably work.

What about ladders?