Left turns at 55 mph are dangerous?

i own a 2000 plymouth neon, that for an old girl is in good not great but good condition. any way, ivy (thats her name), hs recently started to shudder as if the rim and all is going to fall off as i go around a left turn. i know that the back passenger rim is the culprit because of the way it moves going down the highway. but when i go down the interstate it doesnt do a thing. that is where i am confused. i think its the alignment or an unblanced tire. but i just had my new tires balanced. if its a worse case project then i am thinking of it being the rear axle. but again its only on left turns. i am too poor to get it checked out professionally since i am a college student. can anyone help me?

This could be dangerous, so I won’t go on the hwy until you have figured it out. It might have to do with the recent balancing, or the problem was there prior to the balance? Anybody checked the wheel and made sure that the lugs are tight and the wheel is not coming off?

thanks for the quick reply. yeah the lugs nuts are tight all five of them. do you have any other advice as what to look for or at?

Without vehicle in hand and not knowing if we’re going to be on the same page or not, I would strongly suggest that you do this.
Carefully jack the car up enough to get that right rear wheel off the ground. Grasp the wheel assembly on both sides and see if you can move the wheel assembly back and forth. There should be little to no noticeable movement in the wheel.
If there is, then then you may have a failing wheel bearing or a rear suspension bushing problem.

If something is worn and loose the shudder could be caused by the tire skipping on the pavement due to the cornering forces being placed on the right rear tire. The camber (an alignment spec) will change dramatically as the wheel tries to tuck under.