Kia truck grinding noise

I live in the U.S. Virgin Islands. I bought a Kia 2700 truck about 3.5 years ago. These trucks cannot be imported into the USA proper as they do not meet such standards as having a rear bumper, etc. It is a four wheel drive, 2.7 liter diesel with a 5 speed transmission, though I have never gotten past third gear on my island. It has 12,000 miles on it. I am a plumber and only use it for business. Last week it started to make a kind of grinding sound coming from the rear, but it only makes this sound when the engine is breaking the truck. If I step on the gas, the clutch, or shift into neutral, the sound disappears. I checked the wheel bearings and the universal joints and they seem to be ok. The 4 wheel drive is working normally. A friend of mine, who is a pretty good mechanic, thinks it might be the bearing where the drive shaft goes into the differential. I just drained the differential gear oil for the first time. The drain magnet had a bit of fine metal hairs on it, but nothing really substantial. What do you think of my friends diagnosis? It?s a long story, but we have about 25 of these Kias on my island ? long story. We brought them in from a neighboring island. Most of them are mini-dump models, though mine is a normal bed, and they were incredibly cheap. They are definitely a light duty truck, read a bit chintzy (though they are official rated for a metric ton load ? 2200 pounds). While they have lots of problems, none of them, to the best of my knowledge, has had this differential bearing go bad.

Thanks in advance.

Yep, I think your friend is correct.

although you already answered your own question in regards to the grinding noise, i want to get more info.

do you have repair manuals for this vehicle?