Is this a faulty repair?

Need opinion - son at fault or repair shop?

My son hit a curb going just a few miles an hour (he says). This caused his tire to come off the rim and shred as he drove on it for 30 feet or so. in looking under the car his inner and outer tie rod has separated. Doesn’t look like it broke or bent, just came apart where they screw together.

This tire/suspension was repaired 2 months ago. is it possible it was not repaired correctly and the act of making a sharp turn at low speed caused them to pull apart?

I’m not an expert and would welcome some opinions on this. Thanks.

Wait, it broke again after the curb damage was repaired? Or it was repaired a couple months before your kid hit the curb?

This is important. I certainly didn’t tell my dad when I launched his van off of a railroad crossing that I didn’t realize was up a slope from the street’s level until after I was already in the air. :wink: I bet he smacked that curb at more than a few mph, and I also bet that, if the pic is from 2 months after the curb incident, he wasn’t making a low speed turn when it broke again.

That said, yes, it’s possible it wasn’t repaired correctly. It’s also possible it wasn’t repaired at all. It’s also possible that it was repaired correctly and you just got unlucky and got a defective part.

Somebody screwed up. The tie rod was only screwed into the tie rod end by two threads, it should be in about ten threads. You can see rust marks on the tie rod where the lock nut once was further inward on the tie rod.

Check the tie rod on the right side, you may find that there are no visible threads, if so the rack and pinion is way off-center. How did it get that way? Did they disconnect the steering column for some reason?
The only new parts that I see are the lower control arm and ball joint.

2 Likes

So how much of the threaded end of the inner tie rod remains in the outer tie rod end?