Is the new diesel interchangable?

Hey all. I’m a heavy equipment mechanic for 19 years so far, but I first started out going to tech school for air-conditioning and heating.

I had no luck getting a job in the latter field, but since I grew up in garages, I found myself working on Caterpillars.

Here’s the thing that I conflict with. I’ve done side work years ago on old oil burners for houses and I’ve run into many problems where the owner or tenant just put diesel fuel in the house’s tank if the price was lower then home heating oil. Let’s just say that what came out of that chimney looked like the house had a mile of coal cars trailing it.

Cleaning and putting home fuel in the system made us realize that home heating oil and diesel are not interchangeable. But now we have a new diesel which raises a question for me.

Are the two interchangeable now? I know if a person gets one’s tank dipped and if it comes up red then expect a problem relating to taxes if it’s in a highway vehicle, but say one has a diesel generator, or any off highway vehicle, or just a 98,000 BTU oil furnace. Are diesel and home oil now interchangeable? Can someone put diesel in their boiler and heating oil in their 420D? The thing is that half of the people I talked to say that both are Interchangeable and the other half say just don’t do it just to be safe.

All I was told by management was that if the customer admits to it then it voids the warranty.

P.S. You’ve been on the web a long time, and I have a feeling that this topic may have come up before, but sometimes archives get huge and humans get flustered, so I’m sorry in advance if this was brought up before.

To recap, what I mean by “you’ve” in the P.S. I mean “Car Talk” as a program in general.