Is my OBD insane?

I have a 2000 Chevy s-10, 4 wheel drive. For the last year (and longer) I have been trying to resolve the service engine light repeatedly coming on. Have checked all the codes and replaced O2 sensor,crank sensor,cam sensor, mass airflow sensor, intake exhaust manifold gasket, fuel regulator,catalytic converter,plugs, wires, distributor, gas cap, alternator, checked ignition sensor, and, finally, a new clutch and a used low-mileage engine. Truck runs great, but periodically the service engine light comes on and off, as does the ABS and brake warning lights, and also periodically many lights come on at once and I lose gas gauge and temp gauge, and the battery light comes on. Then I regain them. What’s going on? I have spent way too much money on this but hate to be defeated by a machine, and at this point I must be close to solving it. What’s left? What should I do? PLEASE help me solve this!

I hate to say it, and I’m no mechanic, but those symptoms to me point more to bad cluster gauges/dash, or faulty wiring to those components. All the other replacements/repairs may have been necessary, too, although someone else may be able to give you a better opinion on that.

Have you been doing the diagnosis and all the repairs/parts replacements?

My father had a car that acted like that. Strange instrument reading, lights all coming on, no rhyme or reason to it. Turned out to be a loose ground connection on the cluster. I suspect your’s will be similar. Either a loose connector, or ground wire, or possible a bad solder joint somewhere on the cluster. Damn hard to find that sort of thing.