Is it safe using RainX in my Jeep?

Hey guys, I’m just wondering but do you think that it’s safe to use to RainX windshield washer fluid in my Jeep? I heard stuff about that washer fluid doing things like Clogs the nozzles, pump or even coats the sensors on some cars. Do you think this is all true and means to avoid the washer fluids with The water repellent tech in it?
Upon googling my car has the green sensor type.

What sensor?
I have been using Rain-X windshield washer fluid for 20+ years, no problem yet.

1 Like

It’s the sensor that’s in the reservoir for the washer fluid. It looks like this on my car.

955da77e217fb2c3070aef4e899a97ba

I’ve been using RainX Washer fluid for years in all of my cars. Never a single issue; it works great.

I think you’re hearing some urban legends.

1 Like

+1 to the previous comments.
After having freeze-up problems with “the blue stuff”, I switched to Rain-X fluid about 10 years ago, and I never had any problems after the switch.

I looked up the Safety Data Sheet online. It has 3%-6% acetone and the remainder is water. Acetone is a solvent, but it is in low concentration and probably will not attach the polymers in the part you show. RainX has been in the market for a while and is likely a trustworthy brand. I wouldn’t worry about it.

@coolmariodude This is one of those things that do not need to be worried about. But if you are concerned enough to log on to a Forum then just don’t use the stuff.

The only two WW fluids that I will use at this point are Rain-X and Prestone. For whatever it’s worth, this site thinks that Prestone’s product is superior to that of Rain-X, but that they are both very good:

Something funny there because the main active ingredient is a silicone fluid (Polydimethylsiloxane).
The cleaning wipes have acetone to dissolve dirt and bug guts and perhaps the WWF as well but it’s not the main ingredient. Not sure why that wouldn’t show up on the MSDS as well…

1 Like