Insurance wasn't what you thought it would be?

Hi everyone,

Is there anybody here who’s had a car insurance policy and found out it wasn’t nearly as comprehensive as you expected when you filed a claim? Did anybody try to buy a cheaper policy online and run into problems? And, is there anyone on here who found out that their insurance was substantially slimmed down during a renewal process but they didn’t realize it?

I’m a journalist working on a piece for a national business magazine, and if you fit into one of these categories, I’d love to interview you for a big piece I’m doing on auto insurance. If anyone is interested, you can contact me at acm0327@gmail.com. If you don’t want to be interviewed I’d love to just hear your thoughts in this forum.

Thanks so much, and I appreciate any help you guys can offer!

My auto insurance has been great for about 40 years, all with the same company. I’m happy for me, but sorry that I can’t help you.

I read my renewal statement very carefully every year. I have never had coverage reduced without my knowledge. On the contrary, I’ve had to ask to have coverage reduced as vehicles age. I’ve been dealing with the same insurance company for many years. I guess I’m not the person you are looking for. I haven’t submitted an insurance claim in more than 25 years,but your post makes me wonder what would happen if I needed to.

My insurer bombards me with notices if there are to be any changes to my coverage or premiums. Usually it is due exclusively to changes in state law. Frankly, I get TMI - too much information. Sorry, I’m not the guy you’re looking for. But you can always make something up like all freelancers do.