In need of advice

Hi I’m new to this but here goes…
I have a 95 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2l V8 318 an I was wondering if anyone knows why an or could tell me why my jeep would start bogging out going uphill at 70mph on the interstate??? Don’t matter if the gas tank is full of gas or close to being empty, it does it all the time after I get passed 65mph…

Anybody know how to fix this??? Any help or advice on how to fix this would be greatly appreciated, thanks

That’s a maxiumum engine load condition, so you’re probably looking at some deficiency in the ability to deliver enough air or fuel into the engine. Or the ability of the engine & exhaust system to process it.

air filter, fuel filter, fuel pressure, fuel pump, plugged cat, ignition system, egr problems, compression.

I’d start w/any diagnostic codes stored in the computer memory.

The problem might be with the Manifold Absolute Pressure sensor, or MAP sensor.

http://www.standardbrand.com/media/885939/ST10235AS-FEB14_JTF_MAP.pdf

Check out RockAuto.

Tester

The very first thing that I would consider is…When was the fuel filter last replaced?
For reasons that I cannot fathom, that maintenance item seems to be ignored in many cases.

GSJ’s ideas are logical. I would add that maybe the transmission is not downshifting. That could be a sensor or linkage issue, or something more serious.

1 Like

Go under your car with a rubber mallet, tap in the center of the bottom of the converter. If you hear rattling inside, the honeycomb is breaking up. Going uphill it can fall back and restrict the outlet.
All the other causes people mentioned are possible but this one you can check out yourself. If it is a restricted fuel issue, your car will run slower, the harder you step on the gas.

Fuel filter, weak fuel pump, clogged converter, ignition timing not advancing for whatever reason, or a worn out engine.

If the fuel filter has never been changed (quite common) then I’d swap that and see what happens.