Implications of frame/subframe damage & titles

Hi -

My 09 Subaru Forester was totaled last week. UGH! Now I have to buy a new car. I looked at two 2011 Subaru Outbacks today, both had been in an accident.

The first said the passenger side quarter panel had been replaced, but the frame had not been bent. Would a 2011 Suburu Outback with 22,000 miles be totaled if the frame wasn’t damaged? This sounds a little odd to me. It had a “rebuilt” title. What the heck does that mean?

The second had backed into something with a tow hitch/bike rack. The back axle “subframe” was slightly bent. 2011 with only 8,000. The sales person said it made the car very slightly more prone to serious damage IF it got rear ended.

So, what is the implications of the rear axle sub frame being slightly bent. What is the implications of a “rebuilt” title.

Thanks, I’m an accountant and know NOTHING about cars!!

Colorado Rene

My inclination would be to stay away from any car that has a “rebuilt” title. The damage was probably more extensive than the salesman claims. My guess is that you are not dealing with a new car dealer or even a well-established used car dealer. There will be warranty problems with either of these cars and neither car will be worth much if you decide to trade it in. Shop elsewhere.

A “rebuilt” title is the same as a salvage title. While a salvage title does not always mean the car is not worth having a couple of comments could apply to the first one.
A salvage title makes the worth of the vehicle about half of normal retail.
A 2011 that has a salvage title was probably whacked and whacked very hard. I would be very nervous about a 2011 model that was declared a total already.

The second car might be feasible if an inspection was done and the price was right. The rear subframe might or might not be a problem so a thorough inspection should be done before buying it.