I'll be a diamond someday

Coal is fairly cheap and abundant,but sure has a lot of issues.Not counting the jobs the loss of cheap electricity would create in the auto industry and others,would moving from coal to say,nuclear.Put that many people out of work?

Bear in mind that surface mining has become much more efficient, man hour per ton of production then it used to be.

Kevin, It Looks Like A Lot Of Folks Will Be Looking For A Place To Plug In Their EV Cars Pretty Soon.

Since it takes many years to plan and build nuclear power plants, I think we’ll need both for quite some time while we try and meet the increased demand for electricity.

Wind farms and solar farms can supplement power, but they are more a “feel good” solution to a problem that needs a real solution.

The dumbest reason I keep hearing for not building nuclear plants is that they take too long, like 10 years. I’ve been hearing that for well over ten years, now.

A good friend of mine was a nuclear power plant operator for Consumers Power for over 20 years until the plant reached the end its pre-planned useful life and was decommissioned. That plant wasn’t real far from here (resort/vacation area) and never caused anybody any concern. Yes, you can put one in my backyard.

A coal plant is to built near me too if it ever makes it through the red tape. I doubt it ever will.

Go Nukes! Go Coal! Go EVs!

CSA

Cool!-Kevin

I am not sure what you were trying to say, but I did find the comments about something that both increases cost of puts people out of work.

Yea, that is true, but that increased cost ends up employing people and in the case you are looking at it likely will increase the total number of people working.

I am no fan of moving to nuclear at this time. We have yet to have any idea of the long term cost of nuclear power really is. We have yet to fully decommission even one power station.