If you were a pro-mechanic, how would you handle this situation?

Customer comes in, says the AC is blowing hot air. You ask them to show you the car in the parking lot. Sure enough, hot air from the AC. You pop the hood, notice a brand new alternator has recently been installed. Looking more carefully, you notice the connector to the AC compressor is off. You re-connect the compressor, thinking whoever did the alternator removed the connector to make room and forgot. Upon reconnection plenty of cold AC.

Here’s the question: What fee do you charge the customer?

No charge. a happy customer is a returning customer. just my thoughts, but I am not a Pro.

8 Likes

as a pro- no charge.
I may ask if they knew it was unhooked, as perhaps someone unhooked it to keep the compressor from exploding/imploding. But otherwise, smile and send them on their way.

3 Likes

Was had starting trouble in Naples FL, car intermittent no crank. Had IL plates, so he knew he would never see me again. Found loose connection for the positive on the starting motor. Tightened it up, and no charge. I try to pass good karma along, thank him so much as we were on vacation buying gas from the coin jar. Sure had a credit card if needed, I think. I guess the payoff of just seeing my girlfriend was payment enough.

All the free great advice here and no charge, some times people do nice things.

4 Likes