Unusually cheap car owners

Condensed version of the dialogue from a recent podcast

Caller: My car’s dashboard and headlights brighten and dim, cycling faster the faster I drive.
CT: That sound like an alternator problem. Have you taken it to a shop?
Caller: No. I removed the alternator and had it tested on an auto-electric shop test fixture.
CT: Result?
Caller: They say there’s nothing wrong w/the alternator.
CT: So what did you do?
Caller: I reinstalled the alternator.
CT: That’s a shame. At that point a different alternator should have been installed as a test. Drive your car back to the same shop and have them do that.
Caller: OK, but will they charge me for that?

Just curious, how do pro mechanics handle this situation? When a customer seems to think everything should be free?

When i was a service manager as a young man, I’d throw the bum out and tell him never to come back.

6 Likes

I’ll check your oil for free, and check and air up your tires for free. Other than that, the discussion moves to the service counter where you describe the trouble you’re having or the issue you want checked. Then I’ll say “We can get your in Thursday afternoon and it charge will be $104.87 to address your concerns”.

What happens next is up to you.

It was many years ago that I learned that not doing anything for free improved the quality of my customers.

5 Likes

Just to add to what asemaster said…

I tell them the same thing when they ask to borrow my tools, I say sure they are loaned out with me for a price of $$$ an hour, when would you like to borrow them??

Now a good paying customer that has a proven track record of NOT being cheap, I will throw them a bone every now and then for something simple like a cheap and easy brake light bulb if I am very busy, faster than righting up a WO sometimes… lol… and it keeps them happy and coming back spending more money for needed services…