I REALLY need help!

Hello folks, Im in a situation here. Im just a back yard mechanic and can do basic repairs, but this one just has me stumped.

I just recently purchased a 1998 GMC 1500 2 wheel drive from my best friend about 3 or 4 months ago. He purchased it brand new in 98 and of course is the original owner. I got a hell of a steal on it and basically told him I still want him to do all the maintenance and repairs on it, only I will pay for it of course. My biggest issue right now, is the past few weeks I keep blowing the turn signal fuse. It all started randomly, I thought it might have been just one of those things where the fuse had just about enough and popped. But I was wrong. I replaced the fuse, and not 2 miles down the road it blew again the second I hit the switch. It seems to only happen when I hit the right turn signal. The only other thing I have on this circuit is my LED tailgate strip that blinks along with the signals, but I even went as far as unplugging that from the trailer harness and still had the same problem. Just for kicks I pulled the right rear tail light out and pulled the bulbs to see if there was any corrosion. I noticed the turn signal bulb was a little smokey on the inside, so I replaced it thinking that might have been the problem, but of course it wasn’t. I pulled the front turn signal and did the same, but all of the bulbs were fine, and was no corrosion to speak of. Wiggled the bulbs around and drove around for about a week and a half with no problem until tonight. It popped the fuse again.

I really dont know what else to say. I did notice that when the fuse is blown, I can take the truck out of park without stepping on the brake pedal, and when I put a new fuse it, it goes back to normal where I need to depress the pedal to get it out of park.