I need to buy new tires for the fisrt time

I am a young female and this is my first time buying new tires for my car a 2005 Honda Element. I would like some advise on what to look for and what a good price range is for quality tires. I called a got a few quotes from some local tire retailers and they were all for uniroyal, lamanz, continental brands…all supposedly from 40,000 to 60,000 miles…and all around the prices of $405 to $600 for a new set. Being that I dont really know anything about tires, none of this really meant anything to me. So I would like to know what you guys think is a good quality tire that will last me a while and also not brake the bank? Thanks!

-Laura

I checked the tire size for your Element. The original tires were 215/70R16, but you ought to check yourself. Certain fancier Element models use larger sizes as part of an option package.

The prices sound about right, since that size tire typically sells for about $100-$125 each. Note that some quotes, the low ones, might be only for the tires themselves but other quotes include the mandatory valve stems, balancing, disposal fee and tax. You can’t go just by a lowball figure.

Which ones to get? Shrug. Some people obsess over finding the “best” tire for their vehicles, the perfect match. Others simply get whatever reputable brand, middle grade, is on sale. That stategy has always worked well for me.

If still in doubt, keep it simple get the same ones that came with your car.

If it was me, I’d go to Costco or Sam’s and get the tires that fit the car. I think you’ll have a better chance at getting good tires at a good price.

Most tires are not made to do everything well. There’s usually compromises involved so most tires will do most things at least fairly well.

I would think about what type of driving you do and the conditions you face on average and base the tire purchase on that.
Each tire is assigned a UTOG rating and this determines treadwear, temperature rating, and traction.